I’m In Miami B!tch III

Location: Miami, Florida, USA
.

My cell phone alarm chimes its morning bells. It is 10am. Today is our departure day, so unlike yesterday, we’re unable to sleep in. Oh, the anguish of having to wake up at such an absurd hour.

From the lobby we head downstairs to valet parking. The concierge calls our car in but it is still some time before it arrives. Car loads of Brazilians are driving down Ocean Drive hanging out of their windows, repetitively honking their horn and flying their flag with pride. I assume Brazil has just won their match against North Korea in the FIFA 2010 World Cup. Well, either that or Brazil has just claimed world dominance.

Our car arrives. We load our luggage into the trunk. I take one last look at our hotel and then complete a full 360° swivel to take in the entire view. For as second, I am engulfed in semi-sadness. I’m going to miss this, and I don’t just mean Miami Beach. Soon, the freedom to be just a short drive away from all of this will be taken from me. I mean, sure, we have beaches back home in Australia, hell, we’re surrounded by beach; but the beaches and atmosphere back home in Melbourne fall shy when comparing them to anything like this. Oh how I wish it wasn’t so complicated to move here to the U.S.A. My heart belongs here. I belong here.

After a quick detour to Taco Bell we arrive at Fort Lauderdale Beach. The beach is just as gorgeous as Miami Beach; emerald green and blue waters, soft white sand and tropical palm trees. Fort Lauderdale Beach isn’t swarming with thousands of people though making it all the more welcoming. Rather than lay out in my swim suit, I keep my clothes on. A three hour drive awaits us and I can’t imagine it would be too enjoyable when I’m wet and have sand in places I’d rather not. After all, today’s outfit will still allow me to continue working on my lovely tan. I place my towel down on the sand, roll up my t-shirt sleeves, lay back and relax. It must be at least 96° out. Ah, heavenly.

There are storm clouds brewing in the distance. We decide to pack up our things and head back to the car. I head to the bathroom and throw my head under the tap. The cool water trickling down my neck and face feels amazing. I quickly find a foot tap and rinse my feet and flip flops down. There is no point drying my face and hair; by the time I walk back to the car it will be done for me. Just as I hop into the back seat it begins to rain. My timing could not have been any more spot on. By now it is 4pm; we begin our three hour drive back to Orlando.

Despite being so short, this weekend was perfection; a much needed slice of paradise. Miami, you are amazing. Wait for me, I shall be back.

Leave a Reply

