I’m In Miami B!tch I

Location: Miami, Florida, USA
.

The morning started earlier than most. I hadn’t packed yet. My alarm was set to ease into a welcoming morning melody at some ungodly hour. I stayed up online late the night before when I could have been packing, but alas, Facebook and Twitter kept calling my name. You can see where my priorities lie.

We gather out front of our apartment complex at 9:30am to load the car. I was in such a great mood; the sun was shining despite the weather mans gloomy forecast and the birds were chirping. A McDonald’s breakfast run was decided which sounded absolutely heavenly to my stomach . Today was going to be a good day.

A four hour drive from Orlando to Miami Beach await us. Mike has made a road-trip play-list to help ease the discomfort of being cramped up in a car for that long a time. I bop around in the back seat to a few new tunes. A group favorite, the Backstreet Boys ‘I Want It That Way’ comes on. I clear my throat and prepare to sing my heart out. We all sing at the top of our lungs with harmonization like you’ve never heard it before. Despite the early hour, our voices combine sound refreshingly smooth; almost enough to give the Backstreet Boys a run for their money. It’s barely 11am and I’ve already had McDonalds and a strenuous vocal workout; and to think, I’m usually still in bed at this hour.

As we drive toward the Art District of Miami Beach I am pleasantly surprised with the giant murals and sculptures on and out front of the buildings surrounding us. The colors are so vivid and radiant; they almost make you want to admire their beauty. It is amazing how something so simple can brighten up such a bland looking building, making it appealing to the eye. Something distracts my attention away from the art work for a second. Our car approaches an endless strip of palm trees. We have officially arrived at Miami Beach!
.

We are booked into The Bentley Hotel on Ocean Drive, South Beach. As we approach Ocean Drive, I try to keep an eye out for the hotel but, at the same time, I try to sneak a peak at the lively area in which we are situated. The people walking down the street are gorgeous, the atmosphere; phenomenal; the scenery; breathtaking and the cars rolling on by; to die for.

I have a mini heart attack as well pull up, curb-side, to our hotel. We have valet parking take care of the car from here on in. The bell boy takes our luggage up to our room as we check in. I found The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor where it ranked #34 of 198 hotels in Miami Beach. After carefully reading the reviews and being quite impressed, I was convinced this was the hotel for us. We had booked a one bedroom suite which would comfortably accommodate four of us (two in the master bedroom and two on the fold out couch). Check in goes quite smoothly and we are handed our room keys. The suite is absolutely beautiful. We have a huge living space, a more than adequate kitchen area, the master bedroom is great and the bathroom area is huge, complete with a personal butt-washer! Bless Trip Advisor for its honest reviews (Click on the images below to enlarge).

We didn’t waste any time unpacking. Within a few minutes of settling in, we had our bathing suits on and went to suss out the roof-top pool and tanning deck. Although only five levels up, the view from the roof-top deck was truly beautiful. The different-shades of ocean-blue water shimmered as it caught the suns rays; the sand, so white and pure and the palm trees, gently swaying in the afternoon breeze beckoned a picture perfect post-card moment. I took a deep breath and inhaled the ocean-fresh air; so crisp and invigorating. I had already fallen in love with Miami (Click on the images below to enlarge).

After a quick dip and tanning session on the roof top, it was time to frolic on South Beach. I held my flip flops in my hand and sunk my toes deep into the warm, white sand. The crashing of the waves upon the shore whilst the sun, in all its glory, was shining down on me was so relaxing. I wish I could live this moment for ever. My thoughts are interrupted by the suggestion of a group photo in front of the ‘Miami Beach’ life guard hut. We ask a beach random to take our photo; he seems more than happy to do so. I snap away at the gorgeous aqua waters long enough to make me want to jump into it. I pack away my camera and frolic toward the shore. I cautiously creep in to test the North Atlantic waters temperature; it has been warmed by the suns rays. The next wave comes crashing over my feet and as it washes back toward the ocean, I scrunch up my toes as my feet sink into the wet sand (Click on the images below to enlarge).

Dusk begins to fall. We settle for dinner at TGI Friday’s which is right underneath our hotel. Once dinner is done, we head back to our apartment to pre-game, play some cards and get ready for a night out clubbing.


Today was an extremely long day. I’m finally glad when it’s time to rest my head and close my eyes. Tomorrow is a whole new day.

~ TO BE CONTINUED ~

2 Responses to I’m In Miami B!tch I

  1. Your hotel room is Lush. How nice is that place. I am spewing that I never made it down to Miami when I had the chance. Boo hoo, but I can live–as I always do–vicariously through your adventures!

    • Lynnie says:

      Yeah, the room was AMAZING, of course, that’s because I did the research and found it haha. I spent nights reading through reviews on Trip Advisor and decided that was the one for us, we felt like royalty! We are going back in a few weeks and want to stay at the same place only the rates doubled :-/ I’ve been trying to find more places tonight to no avail!

Leave a Reply

