Splish Splash I Was Takin’ A Bath…

Disney mates at Animal Kingdom

… at Animal Kingdom!

The weather man could not have been more precise when he said that there was a 60% chance of precipitation forecast for Monday. The weather man being right, imagine that! Well, upon waking up it looked quite nice out; a few clouds floating about, the sun was shining and it was rather warm out so we decided to take our chances and head to Animal Kingdom for the last time before Jung leaves us on Friday.

Today was to be all about good times, friendship, plenty of photos…

AHHHH! STiTCH!

and… a celebration of new life! (Finally, now they have to let me stay in the USA, right!)

..

Until it began pouring down rain. Now, when I say rain, I don’t just mean your average little sprinkle… I mean bucket loads of rain, pouring down like crazy! It came out of no where too and was at it’s heaviest just as we jumped onto the Kilimanjaro Safari truck. I was somewhat disappointed because I love riding the safari and thought the rain would spoil the ride for the simple fact that all the animals would be hiding; seeking shelter from the hurricane-like rain but to my surprise though, it was quite the opposite!

I’ve never seen so many animals out while on safari; it was delightful! There were two hippopotamus trying to bite each others faces off in the water; all four giraffes were out and standing all together in a line which I found rather amusing; the ostriches came right up by our safari truck and were dripping wet while another was sitting by the truck route keeping its eggs warm; there was a lonely elephant slapping its trunk and head down repetitively into a pool of water trying to wash itself (in the rain… yeah, go figure) and there was some weird lama looking animal pacing back and forth; it almost looked as though it was in distress from the torrential rain. Rain was flying into the truck from all directions, there was mud all over the truck route and the safari truck and the tire trenches had become pools of water; it was almost like we were on a real African safari! Best one I’ve ever experienced at Animal Kingdom!

Tree of Life at Animal Kingdom

Needless to say soon after, just like the ostriches, we too were soaking wet. I guess it didn’t help that we went on the Kali River Rapids ride and Jung and I just happened to be sitting in the two seats that took the most hits of water. My back was completely soaked! We took some time to go and watch The Lion King musical performance and saw this as an opportunity to dry off… only the AC was blasting so high we almost froze to death. A happy freezing, though, because The Lion King musical they put on at Animal Kingdom is AMAZING! Everyone was clapping away, I had my feet moving along to the Disney classics and also had my shoulders moving to the beat. It really is a phenomenal little production; if you haven’t taken the time to see it, I suggest you do!

We also took the time to see the bird show; Flights of Wonder. This is possibly one of my most favorite things to see at Animal Kingdom. Monday was the second time I had gone to see Flights of Wonder. Not sure if they ever have a different guy as the ‘tour guide”, Guano Joe, because it has been the same guy both times I have been, but he does an excellent job in playing the part and he’s quite the comedian. The 25-minute show features at least 20 species of exotic birds from right around the globe and often showcases their humorous side (yes, birds indulge in humor too!).

American Bald Eagle - simply beautiful

Of course, the day would not have been complete without encouraging (forcing) Jung to take a ride of Everest. She squeezed my hand so hard while she screamed and was on the verge of tears while I laughed and screamed simultaneously. I’m going to miss her so much 😦

2 Responses to Splish Splash I Was Takin’ A Bath…

  1. Ashley says:

    It’s a BALD eagle. The symbol of America…They will prob ask you that if you try to become a citizen at some point.

  2. I can say some of your readers will come back to see your next writing.

Leave a Reply

