Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi!

lacone

Cirque du Soleil - La Nouba

So, in case you are a wee bit slow and haven’t yet gathered that I work for Disney at Cirque du Soleil – La Nouba in Orlando, Florida, here is a reminder: Hi, my name is Lynda and I work at Cirque du Soleil – La Nouba. Phew. Glad we got that cleared up.

The dude to the far right in the photo is my favourite performer in the La Nouba production. He is one of four Les Cons who pretty much appear throughout the entire one hour and forty minute show and are guaranteed to make you laugh one way or another. When I usher upstairs in Curtain C, he always comes through and we have an enjoyable short chat which usually begins with him mocking my Aussie-ness by saying “G’day mate!” in his Polish accent.

When I first started at Cirque a few months back and he found out that I was Aussie, he told me that one of the Power Track performers was actually from Australia, so since then, it has been my mission to meet her.

Power Track performers - Cirque du Soleil - La Nouba

Power Track performers - Cirque du Soleil - La Nouba

Today, my mission was finally conquered… it only took about three months… not bad hey! (Gheeez, Lynda, could you have possibly taken any longer?!?)

I bumped into her out the back of Cirque and we had a nice Aussie chat! I love meeting and talking to Australians here, they’re all so laid back and relaxed so there was never an awkward silence in the conversation, it just kept flowing. She’s a Brissy girl but has been living in the U.S. for the last eight years. After hearing this, I was surprised that her Aussie accent was still so noticeable, although she seemed surprised when I told her that! We chatted for a good five to ten minutes but then she had to go and warm up for the 6pm show. I’m super glad we got the chance to meet and chat, she was so sweet… but then again, most of us Aussie’s are 😉 haha.

Leave a Reply

