“Can I See You In My Office Please?…”

Really? I’ve only been here for a whole twelve minutes!!! What the heck sort of trouble could I cause in such a short time span that is deemed “can I see you in my office” worthy?!?! *craps pants*

Those seven little words are never usually a good thing, so you can just imagine the frantic mode of panic my heart flipped into when my manager announced it to me in front of everyone in the box office today at Cirque. I’m pretty sure my heart skipped a beat and within a matter of seconds, I had played out every possible scenario from the last few days that may have served as  “can I see you in my office” worthy. The only thing I could think of was maybe laughing too loud… that, or corrupting the poor, innocent Chinese girl. Haha.

To panic, or not to panic? That is the question.

To panic, or not to panic? That is the question.

I guess my manager saw me freak out a little and enter managers’-office-panic-mode because her next line was the wonderfully relieving, “Don’t worry, you’re not in trouble.” *un-craps pants* Phew. My heart beat and blood pressure returned to normal and I felt a wave of relief pass over me, although now, I was just plain confused. If she had just left it at “can I see you in my office?” I would have just assumed I was getting into trouble for something; what? I don’t know. But at least I knew it was something. However, as soon as she followed “can I see you in my office?” up with “don’t worry, you’re not in trouble” I had absolutely no idea why she’d want me in there, so at this point in time, I was extremely confused. Again, I started playing out non-trouble related scenarios in my head from the last few days. Ahhhh I couldn’t pin point any! PANIC!? YES? NO? PANIC? MAYBE!?!  PANIC! YES, AHHHHH!

I jumped off my seat and slowly made my way over to her office…

“Lynda! I just wanted to say thank you for *Saturday night. You were amazing and handled everything extremely well!”

So, this is what relief feels like! Haha. I was so happy to know I was being rewarded for my good efforts. After working 8.5 years in the same job before coming to Orlando and busting my ass and never getting anything in return, I finally felt like what I was doing had meaning and was being recognised. She held out three DVD’s, all Disney, of course, and told me to pick one. EEEE how exciting… Enchanted, Wall-E or The Incredibles… How could I reject the cuteness that is Wall-E???

Ummm, guys, that was a rhetorical question… YOU CAN’T! Wall-E it is 🙂 Along with the DVD was a personalised thank you card which said…

“Lynda, great job Saturday night. Thanks for all your hard work.”

This just made my day. Too sweet. I wasn’t expecting anything in return so to receive the DVD and the card was just amazing. Made me feel all happy inside… so happy I wanted to do my happy dance… but I restrained myself, it was tough, but I managed! Haha.

Today was a good day 🙂

Wall-E and Thank You card from my manager :-)

Wall-E and Thank You card from my manager 🙂

*Saturday night: Last Saturday during the 9pm performance of our Cirque do Soleil, La Nouba show, there were some major technical difficulties and malfunctions which resulted in the show being cut short and the Power Track act being skipped. Many guests were pissed off by this and gathered at the box office after the show to complain. Long story short, we had to offer a whole bunch of free ‘welcome back‘ tickets. It was utter chaos!!!

One Response to “Can I See You In My Office Please?…”

  1. Congratulations Lynda. You are such a dedicated worker, and deserve the kudos, that is not surprising. What is amazing though is that your employer actually is making the effort to recognise it, even to give you a gift. As you said in your post, that does not happen in the work place but it should, happy workers equal better workers. Maybe the fact that Disney recognises that is the reason Disney is the huge, successful corporation that it is.

    Pat on the back to you and your manager.

Leave a Reply

