Space Shuttle Discovery Launch!

Five, four, three, two, one… we have LIFTOFF!

Last night had to be one of the coolest nights ever! We totally watched the space shuttle Discovery launch from our very back yard! How friggin’ cool is that?!?!? Wait, that makes it sound like it launched from our back yard… it actually launched from Kennedy Space Centre out at Cape Canaveral which is only a short drive away from us.

We knocked off work at 11:30pm and I was able to score a ride home with Bryan which means I made it home just in time for the launch. Lucky for him, otherwise at launch time, I would have been stuck riding the F bus home and what a big, major F that would have been! I quickly ran upstairs, got my camera and ran back down to the big grassy recreation area out by the pool and BBQ.

Space Shuttle Discovery launching from Kennedy Space Centre... I wish I could have been that close!

We weren’t exactly sure which direction we were meant to be looking in, but right on 11:59pm, towards the east, from amongst the clouds, a huge orange light lit the air. For a minute all we could see was what looked like a huge, orange lightening storm, but within seconds, the space shuttle became visible form behind the cloud mass! IT WAS AMAZING; a big fire ball travelling through the night sky on its way to space. The video I took does not do it justice from what we could actually see.

The moon just before the launch of space shuttle Discovery:

Space shuttle Discovery Launch as viewed from Chatham Square, Orlando, FL:

3 Responses to Space Shuttle Discovery Launch!

  1. We went outside with a pair of binoculars to watch. It was pretty spectacular.
    Just to show how old I am, I remember as a kid going on a school excursion to the Melbourne Museum and in the education class being shown a model of the Space Shuttle. We were told it was being built and would fly into space. I remember thinking how futuristic and amazing it all was. Now I am standing in my front yard watching those things take off! Amazing.

    • Lynnie says:

      It really was something. I was just like WOW, I can’t believe I’m watching this in my back yard! I want to go to Cocoa Beach for the October launch that’s meant to happen!!!

  2. Some very interesting points have been made here, it is refreshing to see that your site gets quality visitors.

Leave a Reply

