Walt Disney World – Best Decision Ever

Wow, I’ve neglected my poor blog, I feel absolutely horrible! Not only have I neglected my blog, but my fans; my hundreds of loyal, supportive fans. I’m so sorry, please find it in the depths of your heart to forgive me. I wont let this happen again. You have my word*.

In all fairness though, I have been extremely busy! It’s been five weeks now since I arrived in Orlando, Florida to take part in the Disney International College Program and I absolutely LOVE it! Some people hate it, some people feel like they’ve been robbed, some people are extremely home sick and want to return to Australia already (crazy, right! I know!) but not me, I am loving life right about now. It’s everything I imagined and more 🙂

Cirque du Soleil - La Nouba - Downtown Disney

Cirque du Soleil - La Nouba - Downtown Disney

I work the box office and usher at Cirque du Soleil – La Nouba at Downtown Disney. I really couldn’t have ended up with a better job.  Let’s admit it, my costume isn’t all that bad, it could have been way worse (I mean, you just have to wonder around the World Showcase at EPCOT to see what I mean), so I think I’m rather lucky in that aspect. Those of you that know me (and you don’t even have to know me well) know that I am not exactly a fan of kids of any sort in any shape or form. I cringe at the thought of a whinning child. Luckily, I don’t really deal with too many kids where I work, so this place is live heaven for me. It’s almost like they knew I disliked kids and was like, ‘Hey, let’s put her in the least child-infested area!” Bless. Some of my mates are stuck at Magic Kingdom until 2am every morning with screaming kids all around them. My head throbs from the thought alone.

The building that I work in - Cirque du Soleil - Downtown Disney, FL

I get to be indoors all day with my new best friend, AC. AC and I have formed a rather close bond since I got here. He really knows how to cool me down after a long hot day in the sun. Really, he is amazing, is there nothing he can’t do!?!  So while AC works his magic on me I get to watch the damn Cirque du Soleil show while I work and let me tell you, it is bloody AMAZING! I’ve seen it at least twenty times now and I still watch every little part. Actually, I’ve seen it so many times I know when an error has been made… but the guests wouldn’t know any better.

Chatham Square Apartment Complex

I’m living at the Chatham Square apartment complex in a one bedroom apartment. It has its advantages: there aren’t always  a heap of random people over when I get home from work; my roomie doesn’t sleep in her bed so I have the entire bedroom to myself; when she’s at work I have the whole house to myself and lastly, she and I both keep the apartment very, very clean! The one disadvantage, we don’t really talk that much so sometimes it can get lonely, but then again, I have my own privacy which is nice compared to those that are in a three bedroom apartment living with six cast members!

My bedroom!

Life here is superb. I sleep in each day, go to the pool and work on my tan, depending what day it is I will do my grocery shopping and laundry, get my butt over to Cirque to work my shift and then on my days off it’s free entry into the Disney World parks and by night, it’s drinking with all the new mates I have made. I think that’s the best thing about this program – the drinking! Haha, just kidding, it’s not the drinking, it’s the people you will meet (while drinking 😉 haha)! I’ve met the most amazing people in the five weeks I have been here, from all over the world too: France, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Colombia, USA, Australia, England, China… It’s so much fun, and since I love engaging in culture, this couldn’t have been any better for me!

The Chatham Square Swimming Pool!

The Chatham Square Swimming Pool!

Will try to write more frequently, I’ve missed this place! Cheers.
.

* My word is only valid at the time this blog was published.

5 Responses to Walt Disney World – Best Decision Ever

  1. It sounds so amazing. How lucky that you got a good job, I feel so sad for those poor people who are hating it, but am so rapt you are not one of them.

    • Lynnie says:

      Yeah I love my job, I requested to spend the entire year at Cirque instead of changing over after 6 months! I just added some photos to the blog to make it a little more exciting! Hope to be using this a lot more now that I got a taste for it again!

  2. The pictures of amazing, so colourful. Is that the building where you work everyday??? It’s lovely.

    Nice pool, it must be like living in some kind of resort. Are there any pool boys bringing you cocktails?

    • Lynnie says:

      Yep, that’s the building I work in five days a week 🙂 Mmmm air con 🙂 Haha.

      You and Mike need to come and watch the show. Pick a day, Tuesday – Saturday, and a show time, 6pm or 9pm, show runs for 1 hour and 40 minutes… let me know what day you pick, but try give me at least two weeks notice and I will see if there is availabilities up in the glass viewing boxes and I will take care of it from there!

  3. kristiiiiiiiiii says:

    i had no idea you started blogging again! man i have some catching up to do. eeeee!!!

Leave a Reply

