Canada bound!

The countdown has finally come to an end. After years of wanting to move overseas, there are only 14 hours remaining until my flight departs Melbourne. I am SO excited. Actually, excited doesn’t even begin to describe what I am feeling at the moment. I’m not sure if there is a word for it, but it’s definitely not nerves. I thought at least by now I’d be in a state of panic and the nerves would start to kick in, but nope, not a sign of them yet! I guess that’s a good thing though.

I went to the currency conversion place this morning to convert some cash into U.S. and Canadian dollars. The Travelex lady serving me asked if I was flying home to visit my family. Apparently my accent led her to believe I was Canadian. FML. I had to explain to her that I was a Melburnian born and raised. I don’t think she believed me. This is the fourth time this week. On Wednesday the Doctor also asked if I was flying home to visit family. On Thursday at the hairdresser some random client sitting to my left asked if I was from Canada and then on Friday at the Chemist, the girl behind the counter told me I had a beautiful accent and that she really liked it. Poor girl was a tad confused when I told her I was Aussie.

I finally finished packing my two suitcases. I had to make a late-night dash to Coles when I realised I didn’t have everything I required. I hate packing with a passion so I am hoping all the imperative stuff is there.

I guess this will be my last blog from home for the next 14 months. Doubt I will be getting much sleep tonight. Hopefully the 27 hour duration flight Melbourne > Auckland > Vancouver > Montreal is a smooth one. I checked out the in-flight entertainment guide for my flight and the movie selection is awesome. Hopefully I can fit a good five or six in.

Going to be such a mess at the airport tomorrow saying bye to mum, dad and my friends! I’ll miss them so much, especially my gorgeous cat, Cookie, I’m going to miss his cute little face soooo much!

Later all!

 

2 Responses to Canada bound!

  1. You will be in the air now as I write this. I don’t envy you that, packed in tight in that flying sardine can. Good thing that you will be here soon. It’s going to be such a great year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

