T-Minus 5 weeks & counting…

Tomorrow will mark exactly five weeks until departure; 35 days until I leave the secure nest that is my home, family, friends and job(s) and move to the U.S. for 14 months. The thing that bothers me about all of this though, is that I am not the least bit nervous. Am I meant to be nervous? Should I start to feel edgy and panicky or is it still a bit too early for those emotions to kick in?

I just finished watching ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ and although this movie has nothing to do with goodbyes, while watching it, it hit me. No, not the feeling of nervousness, but more so the realisation of how much I’m going to miss people while I’m gone. My mum, my dad, Cookie my cat, my girl friends etc… all of whom up until now, have been my security blanket and my support when ever I’ve been in need, only in five more weeks, they wont be there anymore. Well, sure, they’ll still be there, but that there will be on the other side of the world. This thought made me sad. I may or may not have cried. Shhhh. Pretend you didn’t read that part.

All emotions aside, I’m pretty much almost set to go. I told my Team Leader on Monday that I was leaving my job. I had been dreading this day for some time now.  I had replayed this scenario over and over in my head all weekend. It was the cause of many hours of lost sleep. I tell the Team Leader I’m leaving. Team Leader yells at me. Tells me what a let down I am to the team and that I couldn’t have picked a worse time to leave. Yada yada. It went nothing like that, in fact, it was so completely the opposite of what I had imagined, I couldn’t help but cry happy tears when she was so excited and supportive of my decision. It was amazing. Finally, the weight had been lifted off my shoulders and I could start openly expressing my happiness to everyone about my move! Phew.

I have finally booked all my flights! I already had the main flight from Melbourne to Vancouver taken care of, but was still in need of a few more. Ended up booking a flight with Air Canada from Vancouver to Montreal, then with Air Canada again from Montreal to Dallas. From Dallas to Orlando one of the girls on the program and myself decided we’d fly out of Dallas together with American Airlines. At least I will be arriving at Disney with someone and wont be a loner. Yay. We get into Orlando at around 11am and the Aussie’s on the group flight don’t get in until 11pm so we get to head to our apartments early and go and do some shopping!

There is only one more major thing I require before heading off, and that is travel insurance! I’ll probably end up going with Allianz because one, I work there, and two, they are by far the cheapest for 14 months of full comprehensive cover with unlimited medical cover.

The next few weeks are going to be so hectic, but I look forward to them. I do not, however, look forward to bawling my eyes out at the airport upon departure. Ugh. I’m such a sucker for goodbyes. As soon as one person cries, then I start crying. Apparently crying is contagious. Boooooo.

5 Responses to T-Minus 5 weeks & counting…

  1. Lynnie I feel teary after reading this. It’s bringing back memories of when I left. The good thing is that even though you are saying goodbye, you will be back in 14 months and will realise even more than you do now, how great Australia is.

    That team leader at Allianz is so cool having that reaction. When I left KDC to live in the USA, Peter Starford was so good about it too. I thought he was going to give me a hard time but he said it was a great opportunity. Maybe he just wanted to get rid of me????

    The airport send off will be hard though, I suggest valium. 🙂

    • Lynnie says:

      LOL… I already realise how wonderful Australia, more specifically, Melbourne is. I’ve been to maybe 70 cities around the world and although maybe a tad bias, I am convinced Melbourne is the best city out there. Having said this, though, after I’m done at Disney I want to try and network, find my dream job, come back here, get an E3 visa, a move back over there! LOL, crazy, I know, but the job I want is more common there than here.

      I thought my Team Leader would make my last five weeks there a living hell. End of financial year is coming up which means the Insurance industry is going to be insanely busy and we are already short staffed so I was thinking how bad she was going to be about it. I’m so glad she wasn’t! She actually said to me that there was something she needed me to get her from Disney that she has regretted not buying her mum for the last 20 years, and when I said I could get it and send it back home for her, she was way too excited LOL. Hahaha, I’m sure Peter just wanted to get rid of you 😛

      Valium hey? Hahaha. Nice.

  2. I see, ‘networking’ is what you call it hey? I can think of other ways of saying it, but that wouldn’t be appropriate in case any kids read this….hahaha. I need to go start my networking at 7 Seas in about an hour.

    Something America has that Australia does not, The Cheesecake Factory. OM NOM NOM NOM….snort snort

  3. Jacquie says:

    this is so fucking exciting lynnie…i can’t wait to hear all your debaucherous tales 🙂 and to visit you over there!

    • Lynnie says:

      JAC! I’m excited for your visit! EEEE early on in the year is apparently quiet time too around Disney so hopefully I can get a few days on top of my two days off per week to hang out with you!

Leave a Reply

