A positive step forward in life…

Me in my graduation gear, just before my graduation ceremonyTonight was the night I have spent the last 4.5 years of my academic life waiting for. It was also the reason I could not extend my stay in the USA. After 4.5 years of university, sleepless nights of study, research assignments that at times seemed endless, the stress and panic of examination periods, switching from three different university courses and finally finding something I enjoyed learning and could see myself developing a career in, it was my time to graduate from La Trobe University.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Business majoring in Marketing and Management. I have hopes to pursue the marketing side of my degree more so over the management side; but who knows, a few years from now, I may need to put my management studies to good use. For now, though, I will concentrate on finding a full-time job with relevance to my degree.

Since I was graduating mid-year, the graduating class was not as large compared to that of the end of year graduating class. The ceremony was held on campus. It was located in a hall I had sat several final examinations at. Instead of the long, nerve-wracking rows of tables and seats that I was use to seeing in there for exams set-up, the hall had been transformed to a more formal gathering place. The stage looked great.

My parents accompanied me to my graduation ceremony. Looking at them, I could tell they were so happy to be there. At that one moment, I knew they were extremely proud of me. I was proud of me too. I mean, I had worked hard and put in the effort, so this was the perfect culmination of the last 4.5 years of my academic life.

Me looking extremely happy with my degree after graduating

Leave a Reply

