I’m in Texas, y’all!

Yay! I made it back to my *future* home; Dallas, Texas. God, I love it here. There is a special something about Dallas that I just cannot explain. I often get asked why I love it here, but I really do not know how to respond. I think you have to come here to experience it so you can understand the feeling. The way I feel when I am here in Texas is a feeling I do not experience too often. It is so relaxing here. Now, I know I can easily say that because both times that I have been here I have been on vacation without the worry or stress of work and personal commitments, but it really is relaxing none the less. The Southerners are all so sweet and kind; you do not experience this too often in many large US cities. Well, there is that reason, and the fact that the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex is the largest corporate headquarters concentration in the US and the metropolitan area is home to over 10,000 corporate headquarters alone. My goal in life is to move here for work; for work and my love of the city.

I am staying with my dear friend Kristi who lives out in Irving. I love her to bits but only get to see her once a year for a limited time when I travel over to the US which is a tad upsetting. This time round, though, I am spending two weeks with her. I was incredibly excited to see her, even if my flight had been delayed by a couple of hours!

I had been constantly on the move for the last two and a half months so my aim was to use most of my time here to just relax. I was in Dallas back in 2007 so I had already seen the sights. When Kristi picked me up from the airport we made our way straight over to her brothers house warming party.

During my previous trip to Texas I had checked out Dallas/Fort Worth and Austin, but I had never made it over to San Antonio. Kristi’s cousin lives in San Antonio and was having her baby shower, so Kristi and I drove down to stay at her place over the weekend. Her cousins house was amazing. It was outside of town, in a more bush-like area; very peaceful and calming.

Feeding wild deer in San Antonio, Texas

The most incredible thing, for me though, was the fact that they have wild deer just frolicking out in their yards, relaxing under their trees and walking their fawn down the road. This was an amazing sight for me, because, unless you are at the zoo, we do not really see deer back home in Australia. One morning before heading out, Kristi and I stood off the back balcony and fed the deer corn. A few deer gathered to eat, and while driving out, we noticed a huge group of them had stopped to feed. The deer were so cute and gentle looking. I wanted to bring one home!

While in San Antonio we took a boat ride down the River Walk. The San Antonio River Walk is a network of walkways along the banks of the San Antonio River, one level beneath downtown San Antonio. Lined by bars, shops and restaurants, the River Walk is an important part of the city’s culture and a tourist attraction in its own right. Our tour guide on the boat was quite the joker, often cracking  jokes and receiving many laughs from us passengers. The River Walk was absolutely beautiful. The ride was so relaxing and calming and the weather outside made for the perfect day. Before heading back home, we stopped to check out The Alamo which was featured in the John Wayne 1960’s classic, The Alamo.

The Alamo
Before leaving Australia, Kristi has asked me if I wanted to go and see the musical stage production, The Color Purple, with her. The show was going to be in Dallas while I was staying with Kristi so she purchased us tickets for it. I had a vivid memory of watching the movie once, but could not recall it entirely so I read up on it. It was a fantastic stage production. The cast were amazing and surprisingly, they threw quite a bit of humor into the script. The Color Purple stage show was brilliant!

Another mate of mine that lives out in Dallas, Rachel, took me out to keep me company on the days Kristi had to work. Rachel is a photographer so we spent a lot of our time shooting some pretty amazing things. First off we drove out to Burleson to photograph some wall art which I really enjoyed.

James Dean wall-art, Burleson, Texas
Next up was the Fort Worth Botanical Gardens. The weather was glorious which meant the crisp blue sky would make for a wonderful backdrop. I had so much fun shooting at the gardens. I photographed squirrels (which, by the way, we do not have in Australia and I find them absolutely adorable. I wanted to bring two home to breed!), a humming bird, dragonflies mating, turtles and butterflies. The bright colors and the perfume-like scent from the flowers was beautiful.

Butterfly at Fort Worth Botanical Gardens, Fort Worth, Texas

Before dropping me back at Kristi’s house, Rach made one last stop at the Fort Worth Stockyards. I love it here; absolutely love it. The Stockyards give off that feeling of going back in time. The town looks old; not run-down old, but more so classy, old. We parked the car and headed straight to my favorite candy store which I had remembered from my time here in 2007. The candy at this store is sensational. It has all sorts of old boiled candies; the kinds that are hard to find these days unless you go to a specialty candy store back home. I frolicked through the store like a wide-eyed, excited six year old, thrilled at the concept of purchasing as much candy as I desired; and that is exactly what I did.

Fort Worth Stockyards, Fort Worth, Texas

I absolutely loved my time in Texas, heck, I love any time in Texas! The only thing I did not enjoy was realizing my time here had come to an end because this meant I just had one more weekend left in the USA before it was time to fly home. Where had the last month gone to? Time flies way too fast when you are having fun.

Ah well, at least I did not have to say good bye to Kristi just yet…

Leave a Reply

