Croatia – surprisingly sensational

Unless you are from or have been to Croatia, who would have thought it would be so stunningly spectacular? Not me. Well, my Croatian friends had told me Dubrovnik was beautiful, but I had never really looked into it in depth. I was absolutely blown away at the sheer beauty that is Dubrovnik. “The Pearl or the Adriatic” as it is known, I can truly understand why.

We pulled into Dubrovnik quite late, so we decided to explore the nightlife offerings that evening. A bunch of us ended up at a little bar that had cheap drinks. We all gathered around the table and played “Never have I ever…” For those of you who have never played this game, one person begins by saying “Never have I ever <insert action here>” ie. Never have I ever slept naked. If you have slept naked, you need to either take a shot or a mouth full of your alcoholic beverage. Everyone in the group takes a turn in saying something, and everyone else drinks or doesn’t drink, depending on whether they have done it or not. Needless to say, a lot came out that night and we all had to promise one another it would not be repeated or brought up again. It was a fun night. I really enjoyed getting to know some of the girls I had not had the chance to spend quality time with over the last couple of weeks.

"Never have I ever..."

The next morning we went exploring the city independently. Mel, Andrew and I broke up from the rest of the group and we found this stunning little cafe right on a cliff edge. The views were spectacular. We stopped there to have a drink and soak up the atmosphere. Again, it was one of those *pinch-me-am-I-really-here* type moments.

Mel and I standing by the cafe on the cliff edge

Later that day we boarded a boat and headed out to an island off the coast of Croatia. Our boat guys were awesome. They pumped up the music for us and were serving drinks. The sights we sailed by were breathtaking. The boat docked by one of the piers. The platform of the boat in which we were standing was fairly high up from the water so I was a tad hesitant to jump in, however, once everyone started bombing and diving off hull and the side of the boat, I was too excited not to. Bombs away! It was awesome! I swam around for a bit before climbing back up the boat and jumping into the water, over and over again. I felt so free and I did not have a single worry in the world. The feeling is one I will revert back to in the future when I back to reality and hard at work.

Me jumping off the side of the boat in Croatia

Leave a Reply

